Sequence Of Prophecy

-|--|- Sequence Of Prophecy -|--|- Church on earth -|--|- Three parts -|--|- Next -|--|-

The Book of Revelation is Divided Into Three Parts

In Revelation 7 Jesus described 7 historical churches to John. They represent 7 periods of church history which will last approximately 2000 years, more or less. We are in the last period, the Laodicean period. (Read Rev. 3: 14 - 22. See also 1: 11.). Revelation 4: 1 cannot begin (happen) until after the Laodicean period has ended, which is the end of "the Church Age", "the Age of Grace." The Church is on earth and will remain here until after the Age of Grace is over. Then and only then can Revelation 4: 1 happen, and not before that. John saw himself, through the eyes of the Spirit, being caught up in a vision (Rev. 4: 2). In that vision he saw the things yet to come, of what will take place in the future. Then, when John is actually caught up into Heaven at the time of the Rapture, those events he saw (in Revelation chapters 4 and 5) will take place.

Now, someone is going to say that Revelation 4: 1 has already taken place because John was caught up nearly 2000 years ago. But was he caught up or did he see himself being caught up in a vision? First of all, to know what I am trying to tell you, you will have to understand Jesus' 3 part outline for the book of Revelation. Otherwise, you will miss this very important matter (thought).

Now, in chapter 1 verse 19 Jesus gave three parts.

He said,
"Write the things which thou hast seen,..."

That turns out to be Part 1 of Jesus' outline, Revelation chapter 1. The description of Jesus in Heaven, who is seated on His throne at the Father's right hand, and so forth. (Read I Tim. 3: 16, KJV, Heb. 1: 3, Rev. 3: 21.).

Then Jesus said,
"...and the things which are,..." (Rev. 1: 19)

That is, "Now," this present Church Age, lasting from about 30 A.D. to ?, whenever the year of the Rapture happens. This is Part 2 of Jesus' outline, Revelation chapters 2 and 3. These are 7 periods of church history. John describes how each one fits a particular time in history, taking place in a chronological order as Jesus gave them. These 7 different churches actually represent 7 historical periods of church history. These 7 periods are The Church Age or The Age of Grace.

And then we have the last part of Jesus' outline.

"...and the things which shall be hereafter;" (Rev. 1: 19)

And this is Part 3 of Jesus' outline, Revelation 4: 1 through to the end of chapter 22. Do not place Revelation 4: 1 - 22: 21 in the past tense (history) because if you do it will be wrong. Those things have not yet taken place. It's future tense. After the 7 periods of church history have run their course, then the Age of Grace, which is called the Church Age, ends. And at that point all the true Christians will go to Heaven in what we call the Rapture. It's the open door of Heaven in Revelation chapter 4 verse 1.

So, I'm saying, Revelation chapter 1 is Part 1, chapters 2 and 3 are Part 2, and chapters 4 through 22 are Part 3.

  All Rights Reserved Glen A. Duitman

-|--|- Sequence Of Prophecy -|--|- Church on earth -|--|- Three parts -|--|- Next -|--|-